

## NEWSLETTER Q4 2012 ISSUE #9

# Merry Christmas & Happy New Year!

Season's greetings to all BORMSA members! Hopefully everyone received their desired rally presents from Santa and is looking forward to another year of racing in 2013.



## RMSA Life Members

BORMSA's inaugural life memberships were presented at the 2012 AGM. Anyone who has been involved in BORMSA over the years would recognise the enormous contributions made by **Chris Kirkhouse** (#2), **Mike Rowston** (#5) and **Wayne Sleep** (#1) since the club was first formed.

From running and promoting the club, to designing and building tracks, organising events, fixing machinery, GPS plotting and developing results systems – these three have it covered.







BORMSA is proud to acknowledge the efforts of these fantastic club members and thanks them for the time and effort expended in making the club what it is today.



## **Club Championship**

Congratulations to all deserving winners of the 2012 BORMSA Championship.

**Club Champion: Dene Courtis** 

**1st Khanacross:** Cameron Moody 2nd Khanacross: Darryn Picen

3<sup>rd</sup> Khanacross: Dene Courtis & Tim Batten



1st Autocross: Dene Courtis 2nd Autocross: lain Livingstone 3rd Autocross: Steve Davies

1<sup>st</sup> Autocross Junior: Blake Pearce

## **August Autocross**

Family pride was at stake in a number of cars, with the Davies' brothers, Burtons, Lathwells and Murrays all going head-to-head. In a field littered with Toyota Corollas, the outright win went to Sean Stone in his Galant, who recorded 6 great times.

Eight cars in total beat the 2-minute mark for the Autocross track, including Darryn, who managed to break two Hyundais (one not his!) in his pursuit of quick laps. A late change in the weather made life interesting and caused a last minute shake-up of the results.

After a great day's competition, Top 5 results were:

Sean Stone 11:43.50
Steve Davies 11:46.30
Dene Courtis 11:51.80
Ross Burton 11:53.10
Ron Ferguson 12:02.20

For complete results for the Autocross, check out <a href="https://www.bormsa.asn.au">www.bormsa.asn.au</a>.







## September Khanacross

It was a battle of attrition at the Father's Day Khanacross with a field of 11 starters falling like dominoes. Cam Moody came away with his first win of the season, in between recovering his less fortunate competition. Even the Davies' ever-reliable Fred departed stage on the end of the tow rope, being one of many cars to suffer driveshaft failure.

#### Top 3 Results:

Cam Moody23:18.82Dene Courtis23:48.40Roger McNaughton23:56.44

An honourable mention to Dene & Rob for their efforts in getting Roger to the start line without keys!



## September Autocross

A strong field of 25 entrants started the second Autocross of the year, which saw Dene Courtis lead the 2WDs home in a strong second place behind Gavin Morgan's Evo.

In what was the most sideways event of the year, Mark edged out Scally by only 1 second over 6 tests in one of the closest pairings of the day.

#### Top 5 Results (6 runs in total):

Gav Morgan (4WD)	11:40.11
Dene Courtis	11:50.70
Rob King	12:18.28
lain Livingstone	12:21.20
Mark Stevens	12:21.62

Many thanks to Brian Percival of Motorsports Photos BJP and Dave McDonald who took some great shots of the event.





### **BORMSA 2013 Calendar**

Sat 20 April: Busy Bee / Junior Motorkhana

Sun 21 April: Khanacross

Sun 2 June: Autocross / Junior Motorkhana

Sat 6 July: Khanacross

Sun 7 July: Junior Motorkhana / Drive Day / Busy

Bee

Sat 3 August: Twilight KX Sun 4 August: Autocross

Sun 15 September: Autocross/Junior Motorkhana

Sat 26 October: Twilight KX Sun 27 October: Autocross

DO YOU KNOW OF A GOOD DEAL ON A ROLLER SUITABLE FOR GRAVEL TRACK WORK? ARE YOU KEEN TO HELP WITH TRACK MAINTENANCE?

Contact the BORMSA Committee.





**2012 AGM** 

Thanks to everyone who attended the 2012 BORMSA AGM held at Whiteman Park on Sunday 2 December. Minutes will be distributed soon.

#### BORMSA 2013 Office Bearers are:

- President: Cheryl Simson (cheryls@iinet.net.au)
- Vice President: Bryan Smith
- Secretary: Tim Ralli (secretary@bormsa.asn.au)
- Treasurer: Mike Rowston
- Beverley Liaison: Wayne Sleep
- Committee: Iain Livingstone, Rob Parish, Darryn Picen. Mark Stevens

Many thanks to the 2012 crew for their huge efforts, particularly Lyn White who has finally managed to escape as Treasurer and to Mike who has stepped down after many years as President to allow more time for family and work commitments.